The Carnavalet Museum
 

Bas-relief featuring a Triton, blowing a horn or shell, and a Nereid. This was probably part of a mausoleum. Early Roman Empire. Reused in the decumanus to the south of the basilica at the Marché aux Fleurs, 1982.
Musée Carnavalet, Paris. Photo: A.-B. Pimpaud

The main gallery of the orangerie.
Photo: A.-B. Pimpaud.
Musée Carnavalet, Paris. Cliché A.-B. Pimpaud / MCC MRT

Cliché A.-B. Pimpaud / MCC MRT.
  Since 1880, the hôtel Carnavalet has been home to a museum of the history of Paris.
The archaeological galleries were created by Theodore Vacquer, and were designed to display objects from past and present-day archaeological excavations.

The archaeological collections currently on display in the main gallery of the museum's orangerie trace the very early history of France's capital. The first section presents prehistoric discoveries, particularly the two Neolithic dugout canoes from the excavations at Bercy, and vestiges from the Bronze Age. The Gallic period is represented by several examples of gold coins attributed to the Parisii.

The Gallo-Roman section presents, among other things, large sculpted architectural blocks thought to come from the forum, and noteworthy painted wall panels from Gallo-Roman houses. Scale models show the extent of the ancient city, and a series of display cases present a number of objects from the daily life of the very first Parisians.

Adress :
Musée Carnavalet -- Histoire de Paris
23, rue de Sévigné 75003 PARIS
web site

Le musée Carnavalet
 

Bas-relief figurant un triton soufflant et portant une néréide, sans doute un élément d'un mausolée. Haut-Empire. En remploi dans le decumanus bordant, au sud, la basilique du Marché aux Fleurs, 1982. Musée Carnavalet, Paris. Cliché A.-B. Pimpaud

Grande salle de l'orangerie.
Cliché A.-B. Pimpaud.
Musée Carnavalet, Paris. Cliché A.-B. Pimpaud / MCC MRT

Cliché A.-B. Pimpaud / MCC MRT.
  L'hôtel Carnavalet abrite depuis 1880 le musée municipal consacré à l'histoire de Paris.
Les salles archéologiques furent créées par Th. Vacquer et eurent pour fonction de conserver les objets provenant des fouilles anciennes
et récentes.

Aujourd'hui, les collections archéologiques présentées dans la grande salle de l'Orangerie retracent les origines les plus lointaines de la capitale. Une première partie présente les découvertes préhistoriques, notamment les deux pirogues néolithiques provenant des fouilles de Bercy, ainsi que des vestiges de l'Âge du Bronze. Pour la protohistoire, la période gauloise est représentée par plusieurs exemplaires du monnayage d'or attribué aux Parisii.

La section consacrée à l'Antiquité présente, entre autres, d'importants blocs d'architecture sculptés attribués au forum et d'intéressants panneaux de peintures murales provenant des maisons gallo-romaines. Des maquettes permettent de rendre compte de l'urbanisme de la ville antique, tandis que des vitrines présentent de nombreux vestiges de la vie quotidienne des premiers Parisiens.

Adresse :
Musée Carnavalet -- Histoire de Paris
23, rue de Sévigné 75003 PARIS
site Internet