Trade and transport
Funerary stele depicting
fishmongers, who can be
identified by a ring in the
background to which are
attached two fish.
Carnavalet Museum, Paris.
Photo taken in 1906.
CVP. BHVP/CMN. P. Cadet
.

 




Ships and the control of
the river

Founded at the meeting point of river and road, the town owed its prosperity to trade and the transport of merchandise. In such a setting, the town's boatmen played an important role, and were among the town's leading citizens. Evidence of their evergetism may be seen in the construction of the sumptuous baths as well as in the sculpted decoration of its frigidarium. Their allegiance to Rome is clear from the famous pilar that they dedicated to Tiberius.

Shipping activities grew beyond the regional level, requiring large-scale installations (a port, warehouses, a shipyard, etc.). Unfortunately, we have found no trace of these to date.

Related activities
This major activity created a series of associated trades, including land transportation and occupations that depended on it. The memory of these trades,
  in the form of inscriptions or sculpted images, is preserved on steles. On one stele, we see people engaged in packing a large woven basket that is being placed on a cart while two tradesmen appear to be negotiating. More modest professions are also depicted: fishmongers, blacksmiths, even a tanner. One inscription even mentions a tailor.

Shops
The best businesses were found in the shops around the forum. Other particularly prized locations for shops were found along the main streets, which were wide and practical for travellers. The same is true of the Cluny baths where over a dozen shops sold products probably in connection with the baths, such as unguents and perfumes. Smaller shops on side streets dealt in local products or sold food.

Le commerce et le transport
Stèle funéraire représentant
des poissonniers identifiés par
la représentation, en arrière-plan,
d’un anneau où sont accrochés
deux poissons, Musée Carnavalet,
Paris. Cliché pris en 1906.
CVP. BHVP/CMN. P.

 




Les nautes ou la maîtrise
du fleuve

Implantée à la croisée du fleuve et de la route, la ville romaine doit sa prospérité au commerce et au transport de marchandises. Dans ce contexte, les nautes jouaient un rôle prépondérant et formaient l’élite municipale : on s’accorde à voir dans la décoration sculptée du frigidarium des thermes et dans la construction de ce prestigieux établissement la manifestation de leur évergétisme et leur allégeance à Rome est manifeste dans le fameux pilier qu’ils dédièrent à Tibère.

Cette fonction commerciale dépassait le cadre régional et nécessitait des installations importantes (port, entrepôts, chantier naval…). Malheureusement, aucune trace n’en a été retrouvée pour l’instant.

Des activités annexes
Cette activité maîtresse induit toute une série de métiers en rapport avec les transports terrestres et les commerces qui en dépendaient. Les stèles nous ont conservé,
  sous la forme d’inscriptions ou de représentations sculptées, le souvenir de ces métiers. Ainsi peut-on voir sur telle stèle des personnages occupés au chargement d’un grand coffre en osier disposé sur un chariot, tandis que deux commerçants semblent négocier des marchandises. Sur d’autres sont représentés des métiers plus modestes, tels ce poissonnier, ce forgeron, ou encore ce foulon ; une inscription nous parle d’un tailleur…

Des boutiques
Les commerces les plus renommés occupaient les boutiques adossées au forum. Leur établissement le long des principales rues de la ville, également voies de passage larges et pratiques pour les voyageurs, était particulièrement privilégié. Il en est de même aux thermes de Cluny où une quinzaine de boutiques devaient proposer des produits en rapport avec les bains, comme les onguents et les parfums. On trouvait dans les rues secondaires de petites échoppes affectées au commerce local ou à l’alimentation.