The amphitheatre
DiscoveryTopographyDating

Discovery
 
The arena during
excavation in 1870.
BHVP.


 

  The toponym "Arennes" is found in texts from the 12th century onward-indicating that the existence of such a monument as well as its location near Saint-Victor were always known. It was only in 1867-1868, however, during the construction of the Rue Monge, that Th. Vacquer-who knew that such a discovery was possible-began to excavate the amphitheatre.

In 1870, construction work on a warehouse for the Compagnie des Omnibus (a transportation firm) revealed a large portion of the edifice. A battle was waged to protect the remains, but three months later, the Compagnie was granted permission to tear them down.
  Other archaeological excavations were carried out on neighbouring plots of land in 1872 and 1883; Theodore Vacquer was excluded from these because of his difficult personality. Finally, following the intervention of a number of important people, including Victor Hugo, the city of Paris acquired the land and attempted to preserve what remained of the amphitheatre.

In 1915-1916, the architect Jules Formigé carried out a "restoration"-tantamount to a reconstruction-based largely on guesswork. The remains were converted into a public park, accessible today by a door at 49 Rue Monge, and by the Rue de Navarre.

L’amphithéâtre
HistoriqueLocalisationDatation

Historique des découvertes
 
A droite et à gauche :
Les arènes au moment de leur dégagement en 1870.
BHVP.


 

  Le toponyme des «Arennes» est mentionné dans des textes depuis le XIIe siècle, si bien que l’existence d’un tel monument à Paris et sa localisation près de Saint-Victor ont toujours été connues. Ce n’est cependant qu’à partir de 1867-1868, lors du percement de la rue Monge, que Th. Vacquer, bien instruit de cette éventualité, commença à mettre au jour cet amphithéâtre.

En 1870, des travaux entrepris pour la construction d’un dépôt par la Compagnie des omnibus révélèrent une bonne partie de l’édifice. Une bataille s’engagea alors pour la conservation des vestiges. Après trois mois de péripéties, la Compagnie obtint l’autorisation de les raser.
  D’autres campagnes de fouilles, dont Th. Vacquer fut exclu en raison de son caractère difficile, furent conduites en 1872 et en 1883 sur les parcelles voisines.
La Ville de Paris, sous l’influence d’interventions prestigieuses dont celle de Victor Hugo, finit par acquérir l’ensemble des terrains et s’efforça de préserver ce qu’il restait des «arènes».

Enfin, en 1915-1916, l’architecte Jules Formigé procéda à leur «restauration», pour ne pas dire reconstruction, en grande partie extrapolée. Les lieux furent alors aménagés en jardin public auquel on peut accéder aujourd’hui par le n°49 de la rue Monge et par la rue de Navarre.