The aqueduct

Sources and destination

 

Route of the aqueduct within Paris.
Map D. Busson, V. Charlanne. Photo: IGN Photothèque Nationale - 1999.
  Multiple water sources

The water brought by the aqueduct to Lutetia came from several springs. These were located in the hydrographic network in the present-day communities of Chilly-Mazarin, Morangis, Wissous and Paray-Vieille-Poste, all of them in the department of Essonne. These springs were directed into three channels that emptied into a rectangular reservoir that fed the Lutetia aqueduct. The aqueduct's flow rate, estimated at 2,000 cubit meters a day, does not allow us to estimate the city's population. This is because the use of the water supply for recreational purposes outstripped more utilitarian requirements.

A path that followed the contours of the land

From Wissous to the rue Thomire, where it entered Paris-16 kilometres as the crow flies-the aqueduct traced a 26-kilometre path through the present-day towns of Fresnes, Hay-les-Roses, Arcueil and Gentilly. The additional length is due to the fact that structures like aqueducts had to be built with an eye on costs. Thus, the engineers followed the contours of the land, avoiding abrupt changes in the terrain. The one unavoidable obstacle was the Bièvre Valley, which required the construction of a bridge at Arcueil.

 
Catchbasin for the Lutetia aqueduct at Wissous. Photo taken in 1903. CVP.
Photo: Barry. CMN/P. Cadet.


The aqueduct in the city

A number of sections of the aqueduct have been discovered in various parts of Paris, allowing us to trace its path as it arrived in the ancient city. However, we cannot precisely determine how water was supplied to the community's three baths, as well as the fountains and other water structures that served the Roman city.
Another large aqueduct of completely different design was discovered beneath the Curie Institute. It could a deviation from the Arcueil aqueduct, or a system that specifically supplied water to the Collège de France baths.

L'aqueduc

Provenance et parcours

 

Tracé de l’aqueduc de Lutèce sur le territoire de Paris.
Plan D. Busson, V. Charlanne. Cliché IGN Photothèque Nationale - 1999.
  Des sources multiples

L’eau acheminée par aqueduc jusqu’à Lutèce provenait en réalité de plusieurs sources issues d’un réseau hydrographique s’étendant sur les communes actuelles de Chilly-Mazarin, de Morangis, de Wissous et de Paray-Vieille-Poste (Essonne). Ces sources, canalisées par trois rigoles, aboutissaient dans un réservoir rectangulaire duquel partait l’aqueduc proprement dit de Lutèce. Evalué à 2000 m3 par jour, son débit ne permet pas de tirer de conclusion quant aux nombres des habitants de Lutèce puisque la fonction d’agrément l’emportait sur la fonction strictement utilitaire.

Un tracé au plus près du relief

De Wissous jusqu’aux environs de la rue Thomire qui marquait son entrée sur le sol de Paris - soit 16 kilomètres à vol d’oiseau -, l’aqueduc suivait un parcours de 26 kilomètres en traversant les communes de Fresnes, de l’Haÿ-les-Roses, d’Arcueil et de Gentilly. La longueur de ce tracé s’explique par le fait que la construction d’un tel ouvrage devait se faire à l’économie, les ingénieurs devant composer avec le relief en évitant les accidents de terrain trop marqués. Seul obstacle incontournable, la vallée de la Bièvre dont le franchissement a nécessité la construction d’un ouvrage d’art à Arcueil.

 
Bassin de captage de l’aqueduc de Lutèce à Wissous. Photo prise en 1903. CVP.
Cliché Barry. CMN/P. Cadet.


L’aqueduc dans la ville

De nombreux tronçons de l’aqueduc ont été découverts dans différents quartiers de Paris, ce qui permet de déterminer son tracé à l’approche de la ville antique. Par contre, il est actuellement impossible de préciser de quelle manière l’ouvrage alimentait les trois établissements thermaux ainsi que les fontaines et autres monuments d’eau qui venaient agrémenter la ville romaine.
Signalons par ailleurs la découverte, sous l’Institut Curie, d’un autre aqueduc monumental de construction totalement différente. Il pourrait s’agir d’une dérivation de l’aqueduc précédent ou bien encore d’une conduite desservant spécifiquement les thermes du Collège de France.