The Cluny baths
A monument on the Parisian landscapeDimensionsDating
Architecture and ornamentationThe Collège de France baths

The Collège de France baths


Plan of the insula of the Collège de France baths.
Map: D. Busson & V. Charlanne.

 
      The largest bathing complex in Lutetia

The « du Collège de France » baths were identified by Théodore Vacquer in the 19th century. The parts beneath the Collège were destroyed, but those beneath adjacent medieval houses are still in a good state of preservation. The building was constructed within an insula that was perfectly integrated into the Roman town's urban grid pattern. It occupied an area of nearly 2 hectares, making it the largest bathing complex in Lutetia. Two parts can be identified: a large courtyard-no doubt a palaestra-possibly with a building facing it, and the second part consisting of baths themselves.

Terraced pools

We know very little about this monument, and it is difficult to determine the function of most of the rooms.


  We do know where the entrance was and, as a general rule, only the hot part of the building is identifiable by the presence of hypocausts. Two large circular rooms are noteworthy-they are built over mixed hypocausts, and may be pools with terraces providing seating for bathers. Next door, a space with a marble-lined niche, probably a cold-water pool, served as frigidarium.

A building impossible to reconstruct

The reconstruction of the technical circuits is very difficult. Only a few rare decorative elements from this building have come down to us. These include Doric elements, some in marble, and a large stone Composite capital bearing traces of paint.
However, these are not enough to allow us to reconstruct the building, which underwent many refurbishments in its lifetime-from its construction in the late 1st century to its demolition in the late 4th century..

Les thermes de Cluny
Un monument du paysage parisienDimensionsDatation
Le programme architecturalLes thermes du Collège de France

Les thermes du Collège de France


Plan de l’insula des thermes du Collège de France.
Plan D. Busson, V. Charlanne.

 
      L’édifice thermal le plus
important de Lutèce


Les thermes dits « du Collège de France » ont été reconnu au XIXe par Th. Vacquer. Complètement détruits dans le sous-sol de cette institution, ils sont encore bien conservés sous des maisons d’origine médiévale. L’édifice a été construit dans une insula parfaitement intégrée au schéma orthonormé de la ville antique, occupant un espace de près de 2 hectares, ce qui en fait le plus grand établissement thermal de Lutèce. Il est possible de distinguer deux parties : une grande cour, sans doute une palestre, disposant peut-être d’un bâtiment en façade, et le bâtiment thermal proprement dit.

Des piscines à gradins

On sait très peu de choses de ce monument et il est difficile de déterminer la fonction de la plupart de ses salles.


  L’emplacement de l’entrée est inconnu, et, en règle générale, seule la partie chaude de l’édifice est facilement identifiable, trahie par la présence d’hypocaustes. Deux grandes pièces circulaires attirent l’attention : montées sur hypocauste mixte, il pourrait s’agir, dans un premier état, de piscines à gradins sur lesquels prenaient place les baigneurs. A côté, un espace comportant une niche revêtue de marbre, probablement un bassin d’eau froide, devait faire office de frigidarium.

Une restitution impossible

La restitution des circuits techniques est très délicate. De même, seuls quelques vestiges épars de la décoration du monument nous sont parvenus, tels des éléments doriques, dont certains en marbre, et un grand chapiteau de pierre d’ordre composite portant des traces de peinture.
Mais ce n’est pas suffisant pour permettre la restitution de ce monument qui connut de nombreuses réfections, depuis sa construction en un seul jet à la fin du Ier siècle, jusqu’à sa démolition à la fin du IVe siècle.