The Cluny baths
A monument on the Parisian landscapeDimensionsDating
Architecture and ornamentationThe Collège de France baths

The frigidarium
 


Plan of the baths.
Drawing D. Busson & V. Charlanne.
The circuit ended with the frigidarium, which was the north-south and east-west pivot in the building's modular layout.

The room was thermically isolated from the rest of the building by four courtyards and thick walls, and was equipped with unheated bathing equipment. In the niches lining the walls were cold-water basins signalled by the presence of water and waste pipes. The exedra n the room's northern side was temporarily converted into an 80-cm deep cold water basin.

After a cold bath, customers would return to the changing rooms, and the circuit ended.

This beautifully proportioned room is famous for its exceptionnal vaulted ceiling that rises to a height of 14.5 metres (one of the highest still standing in the Western Roman Empire), and for the quality of its stone decoration.
  Frigidarium, north facade seen from the Boulevard Saint-Germain. CVP / C. Rapa.
Frigidarium, north facade seen from the Boulevard Saint-Germain.
Photo: C. Rapa / CVP.


The bases of the central vault's diagonals rest on stone consoles featuring bows of large fat-bellied ships loaded with weapons. This décor-exceptional in the Roman world-reflects the power of the Lutetian boatmen's corporation and their role in the building of the baths. It has been suggested that the building could have served as a meeting place for them, but this is far from certain.

Les thermes de Cluny
Un monument du paysage parisienDimensionsDatation
Le programme architecturalLes thermes du Collège de France

Le frigidarium
 


Plan des thermes.
Dessin D. Busson et V. Charlanne.
Le circuit s’achevait par le frigidarium qui constitue le pivot de l’édifice dans l’ordonnance modulaire, tant dans le sens nord-sud que dans le sens est-ouest.

Isolée thermiquement du reste de l’établissement par quatre cours et par des murs épais, la salle froide recevait un équipement balnéaire non chauffé. Dans les niches rythmant ses parois étaient placées des vasques d’eau froide signalées par la présence de tuyaux d’arrivée d’eau et d’évacuation. L’exèdre au nord de la pièce fut quant à elle temporairement aménagée en bassin d’eau froide profond de 80 cm.

Après avoir pris le bain froid, les utilisateurs retournaient aux vestiaires. Ils en avaient terminé !

Cette salle aux belles proportions architecturales est fameuse pour son exceptionnelle voûte s’élevant jusqu’à 14,50 m (l’une des plus hautes de l’Occident romain encore en élévation) et pour la qualité de
 
Frigidarium, face nord
vue du boulevard Saint-Germain.
CVP / C. Rapa.


sa décoration lapidaire. En effet, les arêtes de la voûte centrale retombent sur des consoles de pierres figurant des proues de barques ventrues chargées d’armes. Il faut voir dans ce décor exceptionnel pour le monde romain le témoignage de la puissance de la corporation des nautes de Lutèce et de leur rôle dans la construction des thermes. Il est par ailleurs avancé que ce monument aurait pu leur servir de lieu de réunion, mais ce point est actuellement discuté.