The advantages of Paris
 
 
Geographic location
of Paris and the Parisian basin.

 

3D graphics: A.-B. Pimpaud.
3D graphics:
A.-B. Pimpaud
.
  A river
The primary characteristic of Paris is its location on one of the greatest natural communication routes in Western Europe. Paris is also part of a complete multi-level network of waterways, most of them navigable, at the confluence of major rivers such as the Marne, the Bièvre and the Oise. Upstream, the course of the river receives most of its tributaries, which reinforces the importance of the site as the last big river «crossroad» before Rouen, the Seine's first maritime port.

A road
Paris is also the ideal transfer point between river and road, and therefore of trade between North and South. The islets that made up the present-day Île de la Cité formed a natural ford opening to the North and the Plaine de France via the La Chapelle valley.

A fertile plain
Finally, the large alluvial plain that spread out on both sides of the river was good land for farming. The fluctuations of the Seine made this environment unstable but very rich because it was favourable to many aspects of human habitation and trading. The early history of Paris is one of successive implantations on the banks of the Seine-the search for an active section of the river seemed to be one of the primary considerations in choosing a place to live.

Les atouts du site de Paris
 
 
Situation géographique
de Paris et du bassin parisien.

 

Infographie A.-B. Pimpaud.
Infographie
A.-B. Pimpaud
.
  Un fleuve
La caractéristique première de Paris est d’être située sur l’une des grandes voies de communication naturelles de l’Europe occidentale. Paris se trouve également intégré à tout un réseau hiérarchisé de cours d’eau, pour la plupart navigables, à la hauteur de confluents de fleuves majeurs tels que la Marne, la Bièvre et l’Oise. En amont, le cours du fleuve reçoit l’essentiel de ses affluents, ce qui renforce l’importance du site qui se trouve être pour ainsi dire le dernier grand « carrefour » fluvial avant Rouen, premier port maritime de la Seine.

Une route
Paris est aussi un point idéal de transbordement entre le fleuve et la route, et donc de commerce entre le Nord et le Sud. Les îlots qui correspondaient à l’actuelle Île de la Cité formaient un gué naturel ouvrant au Nord sur la plaine de France par le col de la Chapelle.

Une plaine fertile
Enfin, l’importante plaine alluviale qui s’étend de part et d’autre du fleuve constitue un terroir propice à l’agriculture. En raison des fluctuations du cours de la Seine, cet environnement était instable mais d’une grande richesse car favorable par bien des aspects aux occupations humaines et aux échanges. La toute première histoire de Paris peut donc être considérée comme celle des implantations successives au bord de la Seine, la recherche d’un bras de fleuve en activité apparaissant comme essentielle dans ces choix d’occupation.