The Seine
 
Map of the great floods of the Seine in modern times, drawn up in 1872 by Belgrand. The famous flood of 1910 followed the same course. This map suggests how Paris may have looked prior to urbanisation. In particular, the fossil trace of the river's northern branch can be seen.
Commission du Vieux Paris.
Commission du Vieux Paris.

  We should not imagine that the Seine in Antiquity looked like its current, highly channelled state. The map of the great floods of the past shows the original complexity of the river and its tributaries that formed a network of several successive channels.

The principal riverbed
Since the mid-Neolithic, the path of the main riverbed was probably the one we know today. We have established that it flowed more to the north at the level of Bercy and more to the south near Grenelle, accenting the gentle curve that we can observe today.

Secondary beds
The paths of the secondary riverbeds have completely disappeared under urbanisation, even if their topography can still be faintly detected.
  This is particularly true of the branch that was covered over by the Boulevard Saint-Germain - we know that it was active during the Gallo-Roman period.
On the right bank, the northern branch is still perceptible today, as we can see from the trace of the great flood of 1910: the path of the ancient branch roughly corresponds to the big right-bank boulevards. Its size leads one to think that, for a time, it was the river's principal pathway.

The Banks
In contrast to today's built-up, cemented borders, we must picture the banks of the Seine combined with floodable grasslands and marshy areas, as is the case at the mouth of the Bièvre, or between the Seine and the slopes of the Sainte-Geneviève hill. The first quays only appeared with urbanisation activities.

La Seine
 
Carte des grands débordements de la Seine de l’époque moderne établie en 1872 par Belgrand. La célèbre crue de 1910 s’étendra de la même façon. Cette carte suggère comment pouvait être le site parisien avant son urbanisation. On y distingue, en particulier, la trace fossile du bras nord. Commission du Vieux Paris.
Commission du Vieux Paris.

  Il ne faut pas imaginer la Seine de cette époque telle qu’elle apparaît aujourd’hui, fortement canalisée. La carte qui a pu être dressée des grandes crues témoigne de la complexité originelle du fleuve naturel et de ses affluents formant un réseau de plusieurs chenaux successifs.

Le lit principal
Le tracé du lit principal suit probablement, depuis le milieu du Néolithique, celui qu’on lui connaît actuellement. On a toutefois pu établir qu’il passait plus au Nord au niveau de Bercy et plus au Sud vers Grenelle, accentuant ainsi la faible courbe qui caractérise son tracé actuel.

Les lits secondaires
Le tracé des lits secondaires a complètement disparu avec l’urbanisation, même si leur topographie est encore légèrement sensible.
  C’est le cas en particulier du bras recouvert par le boulevard Saint-Germain et dont on sait qu’il était actif pendant la période gallo-romaine.
Sur la rive droite, le bras nord est encore perceptible à l’époque moderne, comme l’atteste le relevé de l’inondation de 1910, son tracé fossile correspondant approximativement aux grands boulevards de la rive droite. Son importance laisse penser qu’il a pu, à un moment, être le lit principal du fleuve.

Les berges
A l’opposé des berges actuelles aménagées et bétonnées, il faut imaginer des rives mêlant parfois prairies inondables et zones de marécage, comme c’est le cas à l’embouchure de la Bièvre, ou entre la Seine et le piémont de la Montagne Sainte-Geneviève. Les premiers quais n’apparaîtront qu’avec l’urbanisation du site.